Valedictory Service


Valediction 2009 1

Desmond Davis & War Memorial Scholarship
In March 1919, Mr H J Hofmeyr, Chairman of the Governing Body, and Mr Desmond Davis, the Headmaster, proposed that a memorial be erected to those Old Edwardians who had been killed on active service during World War One. A magnificent response to the appeal for funds made it possible to erect the War Memorial in the School quadrangle, and left enough in the fund to finance a War Memorial Scholarship. After the death of Desmond Davis in 1960, funds contributed by Old Edwardians in his memory were added to the trust fund of the War Memorial Scholarship. From this fund is made the annual award now known as the Desmond Davis and War Memorial Scholarship.

This is the Premier Award of the School. It is awarded to a scholar (i.e. someone with Academic Colours) who has made a significant contribution to many facets of the life of the School.

K Morse is the recipient of the 2018  Desmond Davis and War Memorial Scholarship.

Hugh Wilson Scholarship
The award goes to a Grade 12 learner who has contributed to the School in many areas, i.e. Academic, Sport, Cultural and Service. Contribution to the Dramatic Society is given consideration.

The recipient of the Hugh Wilson Scholarship in 2018 is M Titterton.

HJ Hofmeyr Scholarships
Mr H J Hofmeyr served on the School’s Governing Body from 1907 and was its Chairman for twenty five successive years. Upon his death in 1937, money was left in trust for the creation of a fund which now finances scholarships and bursaries.

The H J Hofmeyr Scholarships are awarded on the same criteria as the Desmond Davis and War Memorial Scholarship, although only two recipients need to have Academic Colours and the others a 60% average. These are awarded at the discretion of the Trustees. The recipients of the H J Hofmeyr Scholarship for 2018 are :

D Curtis

J Quigley


English Editor’s Prize: JK Quigley
Proxime Accessit: N Fazluddin

Afrikaans Redakteursprys: D Fuller
Proxime Accessit: N Fazluddin

isiZulu Editor’s Prize: C Mabizela
Proxime Accessit:      Z Shivane and O Mdlandla

Headmaster’s Service Award
The Headmaster’s Service Award is given to Grade 12 learner who over the years have given unselfishly of their time to service to the School and to the community. The recipients receive a certificate, a plaque and their names are put on the board in the Auditorium.

N Mkari

Summa Cum Laude

Subject Awards
Afrikaans D Fuller
Mathematics N Fazluddin
Physical Sciences N Fazluddin
Accounting N Fazluddin
Information Technology J Thornhill
Advanced Programme Mathematics J K Quigley
English P Weyers
isiZulu O Mabizela & O Mdlandla
Life Orientation M Arujo, D Curtis, N Fazluddin & J Quigley
Mathematical Literacy A Ghuman
Life Sciences N Fazluddin
History J Alvares
Geography S Newland-Nell
Visual Arts N Morare
Engineering Graphics & Design C Kapareliotis

Dux Scholae: Highest aggregate in Grade 12
N Fazluddin

Academic Gold Medals
for those who have received medals in Grades 8, 9 and 10, been awarded Academic Colours in Grade 11 and have maintained the standard in Grade 12
JK Quigley

N Fazluddin

S Newland-Nell

DS Kruger

D Curtis

Full list of 2018 Award Winners

KES Valediction 2018 Prize Giving List 2018